Chelveston-cum-Caldecott Parish Council

Serving the people of Chelveston-cum-Caldecott

Clerk: Mr Mark Hunter
Ashbury, Caldecott
Northamptonshire NN9 6AR

Tel: 01933 626039

Who we are & what we do

Chelveston-cum-Caldecott Parish Council first met on Friday 4th January 1895 and has been going strong ever since! There are 7 Councillors, supported by a Clerk. The Chair and Vice-Chair of the Council are elected annually from amongst the Councillors at the Annual Meeting in May.

Minutes of the Council 4 January 1895


Election results (2015)

  • Election Results 2015 (PDF, 69 Kb)

    Declaration of the results of the election of Councillors for the Parish of Chelveston-cum-Caldecott, held on Thursday 7th May 2015.

The next elections will be on Thursday 6th May 2021, to coincide with the new Unitary Council elections (i.e. this will be a 6 year term).

E. Jabez Browning, the first Chairman of the Parish Council in 1895.

E. Jabez Browning, the first Chairman of the Parish Council in 1895.
This image was taken around 1908. By kind permission of Jessica Leslie, San Antonio, Texas, USA

What the Parish Council does

Parish Councils are statutory bodies, originally created by the Local Government Act 1894 and having powers under a number of different Acts and Regulations (e.g. the Highways Act 1980, the Localism Act 2011, etc.). The Parish Council can raise funds through local taxation, known as the Precept, which is added to the Council Tax bill and collected by the District Council on behalf of the Parish Council. The Parish Council can also apply for grants.

Meetings of the Parish Council are normally held on the second Monday of the month at the Village Hall in Caldecott Road.

The Parish Council's responsibilities currently include -

  • Allotments (16 plots);
  • Amenity Land (Higham Road);
  • Community Events (e.g. Dog shows, Quiz nights);
  • Community Safety (e.g. Flood wardens, Village Emergency Plan);
  • Grants;
  • Grass cutting (within the 30 mph limits);
  • Grounds maintenance;
  • Neighbourhood Development Planning (The NDP was adopted in 2017);
  • Newsletters (issued free to all households in the parish bi-monthly, plus special editions);
  • Parish Appraisals (surveys of the parish done every 7 years or so);
  • Planning (as a statutory consultee);
  • Provision of "self-help" gritting bins (formerly a County Council function);
  • Provision of the parish noticeboards;
  • Street Furniture (public benches, some of the litter and dog bins);
  • Street Lighting (60 lamps around the parish);
  • Traffic Calming (3 Speed Indicator Devices, organising volunteers for the Community Speed Watch rota);
  • Trustees (to various charities);
  • War Memorials (maintenance of the Cross of Sorrow in the Churchyard and the 305th BG memorial in Higham Road); and
  • Websites (both the Council's and the parish charity/community ones).



Since the Council was created in 1895, two Councillors and one Clerk have held honours.

  • Cllr William Hirst Simpson CBE, who served as a Councillor from 1904 - 1921.
  • Cllr Glenn Harwood MBE, who served as a Councillor from 2007 - 2017.
  • Mr William Fellowes Corby MBE, who served as the Clerk from 1906 - 1934.

Standing Orders

  • Standing Orders ver 8.1 (PDF, 227 Kb)

    Standing Orders of the Parish Council, adopted in September 2018 and amended May 2020.

Code of Conduct

  • Code of Conduct (PDF, 43 Kb)

    The Code of Conduct (2014 version) applies to all Councillors when they act in their role as Councillors of Chelveston-cum-Caldecott Parish Council.

    Adopted 10th November 2014

Action Plan

  • Action Plan 2019-20. (PDF, 59 Kb)

    Action Plan for the Parish Council for the financial year 2019-20.

  • Action Plan 2018-19 (PDF, 59 Kb)

    Action Plan for the Parish Council for the financial year 2018-19

Staff and Volunteers

We have one part-time Clerk, plus a number of volunteers who pick litter, check on the footpaths, mow the grass round the 305th BG Memorial, deliver the parish newsletters, etc. If you have a problem to report, this can be done by phone, e-mail or using the on-line form.

Parish Clerk

The Clerk to the Parish Council

01933 626039